Thursday, September 22, 2016

BC Homecoming 2016

I have written before that I am a proud graduate of Benton Community.  One of my favorite things about our District is how we are a "community of communities".  One time of the year when this is incredibly apparent is during Homecoming Week.

My graduation day with RoseMary Meyer our Senior Class Sponsor
Our staff have been sharing many pics from Homecoming Week on our insta-gram accounts.  


Marv Bell, father to our beloved 5th grade teacher Debra Miner, started a document which shares the history of our Kings/Queens and scores to our homecoming games since BC became BC in 1966.  Marv shared this document with our staff every year during Homecoming Week.  When he retired, he asked that I continue with the tradition of sharing this history and document.

Mr. Bell is one of my former teachers, colleagues and mentors. I blogged about his impact on me in May of 2016.  Since, I've always done what Mr. Bell asked me to do, I'm including his Homecoming History document, of which I continue to proudly update since 2008, to this blog.

Marvin Bell

Homecoming, 2016

New teachers: Pay close attention, please.

Seating Schedule for the Homecoming Pep Rally

Remember that it is vitally important to follow these seating directions.  We will have 2,000 people in the gym, including high school students, middle school students, elementary students, preschool students, parents, relatives, other community adults, and BC graduates. If you have questions, be sure to ask your building administrator for clarification.

Elementary Grades

·       Atkins/Keystone students will enter the gym via the north gym doors but must exit by the industrial arts department doors.  Signs will be posted.  Keystone students will enter by the industrial arts doors but will exit from the north gym doors.  Signs will be posted, but do not confuse with the Atkins/Keystone signs or the Atkins/Keystone students, who will be headed the other way.

·       Norway, and Central Lutheran students will enter on an alternating basis (Norway student, CLS student, Norway student, CLS student, etc.) from the west doors (the doors from which you can see the football field.)  However, Norway and CLS students must exit from the south doors (behind the school) so that they will not collide with the Atkins and Keystone Students (Please re-read the directions for Atkins and Keystone students).  .

Middle School/High School
  • As in the past, students whose last names start with the letters ranging from and including “A”-“M”, regardless of MS/HS grade levels, will sit on the left half of the home side of the gym.  MS/HS students whose last names start with the letters “N”-“Z” will sit on the right half of the home side of the gym, the purpose being to allow students in grades 7-12 to get to know each other, and for the younger students to assimilate the spirit of BC Homecoming from the other students.

All Faculty, regardless of grade level: Please sit back to back and face each other so that your full and individual attentions will be directed to those students who are seated both directly in front and directly in back of you.


Homecoming History at Benton Community

Queen and King (Kings were not elected until 1972.)

Football Scores

1.       1966 Wendy Wardenburg
BC 20, Dysart 15
2.       1967 Jane Boddicker
Iowa Valley 30, BC 0
3.       1968 Jean McMann
West Marshall 33, BC 13
4.       1969 Denise Kromminga
BC 8, Iowa Valley 7
5.       1970 Bev Walters
Ackley-Geneva 73, BC18 (Not a misprint: Ackley-Geneva was ranked #1 and had not been scored on all season. BC passed 50+ times for three TD’s, which angered Ackley-Geneva, and A-G intentionally ran up the score. )
6.       1971 Vicki Wilhelmi
BC 29, Iowa Valley 13
7.       1972 Roxie Franck, David Eckhart
Linn-Mar 37, BC 18
8.       1973 Jill Kromminga, Bill Swanson
BC 22, Iowa Valley 0
9.       1974 Kathy Schmuecker, Steve Silhanek
Linn-Mar 33, BC 18
10.    1975 Amy Morrison, Gary Thompson
BC 10, Iowa City Regina 6
11.    1976 Julie Maas, Greg Merchant
Linn-Mar 25, BC 0
12.    1977 Terri Johnson, Mike Wagner
Iowa City Regina 36, BC 7
13.    1978 Barb Bridgewater, Mark Prusha
Linn-Mar34, BC 14
14.    1979 Carol Wagner, Steve Carl
BC 27, Iowa Valley 0
15.    1980 Joni Wilhelm, Bill Boies
BC 19, Linn-Mar 13
16.    1981 Andrea Himan, Brian Strellner
BC 27, Iowa Valley 0
17.    1982 Jana Brady, Mark Pirtle
Linn-Mar 26, BC 8
18.    1983 Ronda Donald, Jon Schrage
BC 51, Iowa Valley 6
19.    1984 Sheri Zillman, Scott Werning
Linn-Mar 26, BC 14
20.    1985 Susie Andresen, Steve Junge
BC 48, Iowa City Regina 0
21.    1986 Deanna Ternus, Troy Werning
BC 10, Anamosa 6
22.    1987 Kellee Becker, Jason Seboldt
BC 46,Waverly-Shellrock 0
23.    1988 Dee Wardenburg, Matt Kopecky
BC 18, Cedar Rapids Regis 7
24.    1989 Shelly Kienast, Greg Buelow
BC 41, Cedar Rapids LaSalle 7
25.    1990 Michele Becker, Tom Bridgewater
BC 29, Vinton 14
26.    1991 Amy Hagen, Aaron Brecht, David Kaestner
BC 28, South Tama 0
27.    1992 Leah Lenhart, Jason Wilhelm
Pella 27, BC 10
28.    1993 Darci Franck, Sheramee Werner, Dan Peddicord
BC 29, Marion 12
29.    1994 Jessica Janss, Jason Furler
BC 35, Oelwein 21
30.    1995 Aneasha Wilhelm, Mike Peddicord
South Tama 12, BC 0
31.    1996 Stephanie Werner, Josh Rempfer
BC 28, Maquoketa 0
32.    1997 Jocelyn Jurgens, Jared Haar
West Delaware 22, BC 21
33.    1998 Ashlee Frese, Nathan Gross
Maquoketa 28, BC 6
34.    1999 Jenny Anderson, Jeremy Morrison
Marion 27, BC 26
35.    2000 Valerie Kaiser, Ben Miller
BC 41, DeWitt 26
36.    2001 Becky Koopman, Daric Kaestner
BC 42, Union 0
37.    2002 Nicole Larsen, Ryan Etscheidt
BC 20, Marion 10
38.    2003 Jennifer Gahring, Brady Callison
BC 35, Vinton 14
39.    2004 Amber Havran, Marcus Hemaseth
BC 33, Grinnell 6
40.    2005 M’Leigh Rempfer, Cody Schminke
Williamsburg 41, BC 13
41.    2006 Sarah Parr, Chad Schwarting
BC 14, Oelwein 0
42.    2007 Paige Myers, Evan Brehm
BC 42, Independence 6
43.        2008 Kaitlyn Kromminga, Tony Stenburg
BC 25, Vinton 18
44.        2009 Val Reinberg, Shane Reinberg
Union 37, BC 7
45.        2010 Jamie Hodenfield, Patrick Koopman
Grinnell 35, BC 28
46.        2011 Alicia Gage, Austin Cassill
BC 22, Washington 21 (OT)
47.        2012 Madison Weekly, Jessie Nelson
BC 35, Anamosa 28
48.       2013 Kelsey Ettleman, Andrew Thompson
DeWitt 46, BC 20
49.       2014 Brooke Boddicker, Ben Haerther
BC 20, Nevada 12
50.       2015 Hannah Thompson, Julian Wilson
BC 26, Newton 20
51.       2016

No comments:

Post a Comment